Nissequogue Fire Department Open
House Sunday, October 16, 2016The Nissequogue Fire
Department cordially invites all Village residents and
their families to the Annual Fire Department Open House on
Sunday October 16th from 1-4 p.m. The Open House includes
displays, demonstrations, blood pressure checks, and
refreshments. We hope to see you all there.
Village of Nissequogue
Incorporated in 1926, The Village of Nissequogue,
encompassing 3.6 square miles, is a hidden gem on the
North Shore of Long Island tucked between the Nissequogue
River and the Village of Head of the Harbor bordered to
the north by the Long Island Sound. Founded in 1665 by
Richard Bull Smith, it is the original settlement of the
Town of Smithtown. It is located approximately 50 miles
east of New York City.
The Village of Nissequogue is a dream environment for
naturalists who value privacy; it is an exclusively
residential community with the exception of a private golf
course, a private world class equestrian center and a
private boarding school. Additionally, there are two
beaches available to residents, town permit required.
Two acre zoning is the minimum lot size and many
properties exceed that minimum. With its own Police
Department and Volunteer Fire Department, residents enjoy
quick response in case of an emergency. With many horse
properties scattered throughout the Village, there is a
sense of countrified living, yet residents are a mere
fifteen minute drive to the Smith Haven Mall. Indeed, it
is the best of both worlds having quiet, bucolic living
easy access to the Long Island Railroad, schools,
churches, grocery stores or other commercial enterprises.